top of page
Search
kaurageousmama

Guru Nanak Dev Ji & The Sacred Thread Ceremony



To watch the Saakhi above in Punjabi please click here.


For me, personally, this Saakhi carries great importance. It teaches us not only to not blindly follow a person of religious authority, but to stay away from the blind superstitions of taaghas (black threads) and kala tikkas (black dots behind the ear). I never agreed with these, as I always felt that how can a thread or a smudges kajol (eye liner pencil) protect you from "evil". I do agree that in the world there are evil spirits or people, but the ultimate protection is not something that can be broken or wiped away - the ultimate protection is remembering Waheguru.


When we indulge in such gimmicks (in my humble opinion) our love and trust in Waheguru is questioned - but when we refrain from such deeds, and remember that the True Waheguru is beyond these measures, we create a bond and trust between the Almighty and ourselves that is unbreakable. You find that state of chardikala, and everything that comes your way, be it good or bad, doesn't break your soul. That state of mind, to me, is what Guru Ji refers to in Gurbani, and it cannot be achieved if we put faith in worldly objects and blind superstitions.


I used to get into a lot of arguments over the black thread, and how nazar will "eat me up" so to speak. I remember using this saakhi as proof that Guru Ji did not want us using such threads to gain "protection", He wanted us to remember Waheguru instead.


Guru Ji was also against discrimination against women and people who may be from poorer backgrounds - a quality that I want to instil in my kid as well. Another reason why this Saakhi is a great discussion starter!


I have written out the Saakhi using different text and online sources. It is not in the entirety and is only a representation of the Saakhi I have known. I am sure there will be some variations. Please do use it as a guide to share with your kids. You can download it here


Also, there is an activity at the end - which I must say, does promote questioning parents, people of authority, and so forth. There is a question about how should have Guru ji just listened to his parents - the answer is of course no. But just a heads up, that some parenting styles may not allow such questions. For me, an honest open discussion in a safe place, I find is the best way for kids to learn and understand. Please feel free to skip this if it doesn't sit well with you.


I also came up with a I promise.. page, that I will get her to agree to whatever she wants. I don't expect her to promise all those things. but some, would be great.


Again, teaching kids about Sikhi should be done with love, open-mindedness, and respect; it should never be by force or coercion (unless of course its chocolates). When we force religion, or anything for that matter, it usually fosters a sour relationship - which is not what we want.


Other videos to look at


What is the Janeu Ceremony? Click here


All About Sikhi discussion on Janeu and why He said no. In Hindi Click here

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page