top of page
Search
kaurageousmama

Guru Nanak Dev JI's Gurpurab Countdown




Guru Nanak Dev Ji is the founder of the Sikh religion. A religion that I am immensely proud to be a part of. As a mother, I feel it is my duty to take opportunities to teach my child about Sikhi. I use events the Gurpurabs and other events, to teach her via activities. About 2 years ago we made a "Waheguru Box" (as she has lovingly named it) to be our version of a countdown (advent) calendar.


I fill it with questions, quotes, learning activities or stories, and other information. Each day we do it, and she gets a small chocolate (think hershey's kisses). Usually, the last day, she gets a small gift. Yes, its almost like bribing her with chocolate - but it works, and she learns, and most importantly - she is happy doing it.


I don't force religion, as when things are forced, they usually harbour resentment. I have always wanted to cultivate a love for Waheguru and Sikhi, a love that is pure and trusts in His way. This can't be done by forcing, but can, I hope, be done through love and cleverly crafting opportunities to learn.


Please click here to download the Gurpurab Waheguru Box cards. Please follow https://www.instagram.com/kaurageous_mama/ to see how we use these cards as we countdown to Guru Nanak Dev Ji's Gurpurab.


May His light always shine brightly from within!




167 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page